Review: God’s Gift – 14 Days

godsgift2014
Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Time travel
Written by: Choi Ran
Directed by: Lee Dong-hoon
Starring: Lee Bo-young, Jo Seung-woo, Kim Tae-woo
Number of episodes: 16
Average rating: 9.3% (TNmS)
Original network: SBS

Hey guys! So my second semester just started last week and I could already smell how hectic the next few months will be. I may be on a hiatus again but I will try my very best to update more frequently. I have so many dramas on my to-watch list now you guys don’t even know!

Anyway, beside watching K-drama right now I’m watching Cycle 23 of America’s Next Top Model (ANTM) and I’m rooting for Courtney to take the crown. There are so many spoilers out there but hopefully they are all wrong.

So shall we begin now? Honestly I’m still speechless of the crazy ride I just finished. Let’s wish my review will do this drama justice.

What’s it about?

Experiencing the death of her daughter after being kidnapped, a woman is given a chance to go back in time exactly 14 days prior to the day her world is being scattered. With the help of a private investigator, they both give their very best to save her daughter before she dies for the second time. But it’s not all, in this particular 14 days everything they believed in up until now is going to fall apart one by one.

What to expect?

  • INSANE, I repeat INSANE twists and turns
  • Smart and detailed plot
  • Real fast-pacing storyline
  • Multi-dimensional and layered characters
  • Impressive performance by all the cast
  • Getting your brain works up all time (trust me, you’ve gotta pay attention to every single scene if you don’t want to be confused later on)
  • Being emotional in some parts
  • Amazing chemistry between the leads
  • Basically everything you’ll expect in a good thriller-mystery

What not to expect?

  • The ending that most of people were expecting
  • Romance and comedy aspect (okay, a little)
  • A memorable soundtrack
  • Once again I gotta say: a resolution for all

My long review starts here

Spoiler alert.

I don’t think this review will take so long though because I don’t really have much to say. This drama is already so good on its own.

First of all, I won’t be getting into the mystery part too much. Simply because I personally think that the audience were not really given a part in guessing as they constantly give clue after clue leading to the one particular resolution they intended to. I don’t know how to explain it any better, so basically aside from the early episodes where we were actually confused and had no idea of what is actually going on, afterward we were being guided carefully to get answers although we were being deceived some times.

I think around the half-end of the drama, I stopped all the analysing part of me and just waited for the show to feed me anything they wanted to. Not because the mystery was making me all confused and frustrated, but the pace of this drama itself is kinda crazy. Yes, I know that not everything in this drama actually made any sense. But I admit that I’m actually satisfied with the mystery and I will just leave my imaginative questions behind. 

Before the time travel began, Saet-byul’s kidnapping and murder all seemed to fit perfectly both chronologically and logically. But later on, we learnt that everything is actually being camouflaged. Saet-byul didn’t die until the very last moment (yes I mean literally the very last) and I feel really bad and tired of our duo. I mean, they were trying to change fate in the range of 14 days real hard but when we were thrown mercilessly back to square one I felt like throwing a chair. We had protected Saet-byul so perfectly until this point but we didn’t know that actually everything we did is actually lending a hand to fate to replay once again. I can’t really blame the show, as they connect every single part so smart and smoothly. I’m really impressed with this part objectively.

The twist got even crazier in latter episodes because the bad guy changed in every minute. Around episode 9, I thought that everything is resolved already and Saet-byul’s kidnap wouldn’t even happen at the first place. But again I was deceived as actually everything just started. This drama is consistent in making everyone a suspect aside from our heroine. Money, betrayal, lies, you will never know about a person…

I couldn’t leave out any single moment since this drama is detailed as heck. We need to wear our eagle eyes all time otherwise you will get confusion all over. Every single detail mattered, that’s all I could say.

Now let’s talk about the characters. I love how every character is portrayed with flaws and dark side. Beside the dynamic chemistry between our duo, they both were stubborn and selfish at heart. Not that they were wrong though, everyone puts their family first after all. Soo-hyun is reckless and willing to do anything when it comes to her daughter. Dong-chan is hot-blooded and short-tempered but deep down he has a soft heart. They both are similar yet difference from each other that they paired up so nicely as a team. In case you didn’t know, there is one special episode consists of interview and behind the scenes from God’s Gift: 14 Days’ cast. I found it really interesting that the cast literally had no idea of the culprit just as we did. The director purposefully hid everything to avoid unintentionally spoilers being leaked. Regardless, Lee Bo-young, Jo Seung-woo, and every other cast did a really impressive job especially with the action part.

When everything had come down to political scheme, honestly I was afraid. Because you can’t really do anything when everyone including the police are against you. Politic is the scariest among all bad guys because it controls everything and everyone. You basically have no place to hide and you’ll most likely lose if you try to fight. It turned out that the President was one who saved the day. He was indeed the one and only who could end it all just like Soo-hyun declared.

However, even the President is powerless to fate. I felt like fate is playing with us throughout the whole drama. Going back 14 days prior practically changed nothing but the most important things: Saet-byul and Dong-ho being saved. In the end, this drama served us the most unpopular ending. Seriously? After everything we’ve been through, was it really necessary to hang Dong-chan’s life in line like that? I don’t know about you guys, but I’m never a big fan of open ending. I love happy endings despite how unrealistic they could be. Especially in this drama, after every hardship our duo had been through, it’s only fair if they get the chance to live happily ever after with their family. But I guess fate doesn’t really know about fairness at the first place.

Rating

Objective: 9.5/10
Subjective: 9/10

Last but not least

I watched 1% of Anything before this one and I was thinking to review it but this one really stole my heart more. Please let me know if you still want to see me review 1% of Anything anyway.

My interpretation of God’s Gift: 14 Days’ ending: Dong-chan survived and lived happily ever after with me as his bride. The end.

Comment

