All I Need to Keep Going

You can’t change the ocean or the weather no matter how hard you try. So it’s best to learn how to sail in all conditions. (healthyplace.com)

Let me be honest here, I’m far from feeling great as I’m writing this right now. I kinda have so much on my plate lately and most of the time I feel like giving up and just let my life does whatever it wants to.

But what always keeps me to take another step after another step forward?

Since I’m a Christian, I believe that the most important thing I need is prayer. But I think this is something really personal and I completely respect every religion and belief in this world. So let’s move on to the next one. The second most important thing that I really need in my life is positivity. 

Yes, you read it right.

I know that you’re probably already read about this like gazillion times already but seriously this is something everyone must always keep in their lives.

I never was a positive person and I don’t think I could ever be 100% in the future. Back in the school days, people always said that I was someone surrounded with negative energy all the time and that’s true. I think negatively for almost everything even up until today but I’m a lot better now. I used to have the “I can never do this” engraved on my mind every single moment I was doing something at school. I felt depressed and even suicidal. That’s why those are my worst years but I have no regrets because I learnt so much.

Looking back I realized that about 90% of what stressed me out that time were all created in my head. There were actual problems, but if I had the chance to go back to that time, I would’ve held my head up high and eliminated as much source of my unhappiness as I could.

Now that I’m already on my second month in college, I feel much better about my life. I’m trying to always keep something positive in my mind even in the terrible situation. I used to underestimate the power of positivity by thinking that positivity’s something that only people with good life could have. But the truth is, your life feels good when you think and surround yourself with positivity.

I think that sometimes I still have more negative thoughts than the others, my mood swings are killing me from time to time, and I occasionally have a really ugly breakdown moment.

The key is I don’t feel like that all the time anymore.

I believe that being positive isn’t living your life with no worries at all. It’s absolutely normal to worry about this and that and feeling uneasy about something.

I have no idea where I’ll be in the next 5 years. I literally have zero idea. It might turn out that my dream of travelling become true or it might also be  I’m sitting in front of a desk in an office. We’ll never know.

I do worry about that honestly. There are so many “What if”s on my mind on daily basis and I don’t try to ignore them.

Worrying about something on normal dose means to keep you on track and know where you’re standing as for now. But never let your worries be bigger than your positive energy.

My definition of being positive is telling myself that I am totally capable of doing something if I put hard work into it.  It’s not the same as being cocky or arrogant, but just simply have a little more faith in yourself than you used to have and just keep going toward the future you have on mind.

But how to get started?

I’m no expert on this but I’ll share some of my tips that I find really useful. First, I always try to think a lot about things that I love or love to do when I’m at my happiest state. Because especially for me, I’m not able to force myself to think like that when I have my breakdowns and it’ll even make it worse.

Second, I try to surround myself with as much positivity as I can. It’s not always about people around me, but things like books, movies, or just anything I love will make me feel happier. I can’t exactly remove people with bad energy from my life because everyone—or even me can never be completely free from feeling negative. But try to spend less time with them if you always feel uncomfortable and terrible right after you be with them. It will help to decrease the amount of negativity in your life and it’s better than none at all.

And the last one is just don’t put too much pressure on yourself. This is a lifetime process and trust me you’re getting there as you try. Don’t think too much nor stress yourself out. Everyone has different ways to make themselves happy with their lives. 

This isn’t a guide or something, I’m just simply sharing my some of my thoughts and experiences that I hope will help you even just a little bit. Because honestly things like this really helped me a lot before.

If you have further questions about my experience or anything you can simply reach for me through my email/social medias which you can find at the contact menu above.

Comment

