Review: Another Oh Hae-young

anotherohhaeyoung
2016
Genre: Romance, Comedy
Written by: Park Hae-young, Wi So-young
Directed by: Song Hyun-wook, Lee Jong-jae
Starring: Eric Mun, Seo Hyun-jin
Number of episodes: 18
Average rating: 5.9% (TNmS)
Original network: tvN

Fresh from the oven! I just finished watching this drama about 2 days ago. I decided to give this one a try since all of my friends seem to like and praise it so much. I must say that this is an okay drama with good performance from Seo Hyun-jin as the main lead. This drama’s a new experience for me because I don’t recognize any of the actresses/actors with an exception of Kim Mi-kyung, remember Cha Eun-sang’s mute mom  from The Heirs? Or the hacker ahjumma from Healer? Yeah that’s her again.

What’s it about?

This is a story of people who met by a misallocated revenge. They didn’t only meet each other, but also many other people who taught them a lesson. The woman learnt to forgive people who left her a scar and also herself. The man learnt that life should be lived with a bit of impulsivity, not only by fear and calculations. And during this learning process, they let themselves fall in love.

What to expect?

  • Coincidence, like so many of them
  • A great performance by the female lead
  • An overused soundtrack
  • Interesting sidekick’s story
  • A kinda dry and flat comedy
  • A bit of “supernatural” thing (well, not really)
  • Useless villain
  • Likeable characters

What not to expect?

  • A smart and logical plot
  • Male lead’s character development
  • A remarkable ending (it’s too basic for my taste)

My long review starts here

Spoiler alert.

This drama has an interesting idea for sure. It’s not really logical, like how many people out there will misdirect their revenge target? Even though they have the same name.. But still even though the idea is interesting, but the way they pack it is kind of awful. The bride was missing on the wedding day, and suddenly the friend got the news that the bride’s going to marry somebody else? Instead of planning a revenge on that “new-fiancé” who probably doesn’t know anything at the time, shouldn’t they at least try to communicate with the bride first? My point is, both men (Lee Jin-sang and Park Do-kyung) couldn’t handle the situation more horribly for God’s sake! And did I mention that this is happened in the freaking first episode?

Even though this show has already failed to live up my expectation, I still went on.

After watching a couple of early episodes, I once again get bothered by the dry, flat, and out of place comedy that made me almost give up on this show. I admit that I’m not a big fan of comedy shows, but I can always enjoy comedy being served in the right time with the right amount. But I just can’t get the point here, fortunately, it comes slightly better later on.

There are 3 things I’m really pleased with from this show. The first one is the sound director occupation. I never really cared or thought about how sound is produced in the movie, I thought they recorded them all while filming already. I learnt something from this show, how things that used to be trivial to me are actually hard work and sweat from people working in the sound editing field. This drama did a good job in giving the audience a new insight in the filmmaking industry! 

Another thing I really love from this show is the story of sidekick, Lee Jin-sang’s story with the crazy and hilarious Park Soo-kyung. I grow really fond of both of them in this show. I think their characters developed the most comparing to the others, even the main leads didn’t process as well as they did. Their story’s light and heart-warming, it’s never too late to become a responsible adult for each other and the baby! But it would’ve been lot better to see they finally say the magic words “I love you” at the end, just saying…

And the last one is the impressive performance of Seo Hyun-jin as our Oh Hae-young! It’s impossible for me not to like her, because her character is really relatable and she delivered it really well. No matter how cool and ignorant you are, you’ll always have a soft spot for love. The way you always want to see that person, the longing you feel when you can’t see that person tonight, and how that person suddenly became your whole universe without realizing. Indeed, love can make you feel and do irrational things if you’re not careful enough.

I won’t comment much of Eric Mun’s performance here because it’s a matter of preference I think. I find so many people fall head over heels for him in this show while I just simply dislike his character. He has his charm but it doesn’t work for me.

The rest of this show did a good job portraying their characters. Even though the villain, like Chairman Jang’s kind of useless here. And Han Tae-jin’s not supposed to be a villain since I find him to be the most innocent one here. He has flaws and he didn’t resolve his problems well but anyone would feel the same if you’re in his shoes so I don’t really blame him. But it seems like the production team purposefully turned him to be a villain-like so we can hate him and love Park Do-kyung. I just want to say that if they have that intention, they should do it in a more subtle way.

And don’t ask me to mention the whole supernatural thing that in my opinion only works in the first few episodes.

Rating

Objective: 6/10
Subjective: 5/10

Last but not least 

I honestly think this drama didn’t really work for me. But maybe it’s because I put my expectation way too high or else.

If you want to give it a try, go ahead since it’s a light and decent drama somewhat. I hope it works on you better than me!

And feel free to leave me your thoughts about this drama and recommendation of your favorites below!

Comment

